Orquestra Metropolitana

Founded in 1992, the Lisbon Metropolitan Orchestra (OML) is a reference in the Portuguese music scene.

Composed of 37 musicians, in a “classical” instrumental configuration, their basic formation is regularly modulated and extended, allowing it to approach nearly the entire orchestral repertoire, from the late 17th century to contemporary times.

Among the artists who collaborate with the Lisbon Metropolitan Orchestra stand out conductors such as Pablo Heras-Casado, Kristjan Järvi, Eivind Gullberg Jensen, Christopher Hogwood, Enrico Onofri, Leonardo García Alarcón, Hans-Christoph Rademann, Beat Furrer, Magnus Lindberg and soloists such as Monserrat Caballé, Kiri Te Kanawa, José Carreras, Felicity Lott, Maria João Pires, Natalia Gutman, Adrian Brendel, Sayaka Shoji and António Menezes, among many others.

Appointed in 2020, Pedro Neves performs the dual function of Artistic Director and Principal Conductor.